Our BIG trip to TEXAS (Part II)

Oliver and I left the farm and headed to Dallas to visit my best friend, Katie and her family. We packed a lot into 5 days….all very fun stuff.

The night we arrived, our good friend from middle school, Shelly, drove up from Austin to have dinner with us.  There was a lot to catch up on after 12 years of not seeing each other.

Shelly, Me & Katie G

Shelly, Me & Katie G

The next night we had Katie’s brothers and their girlfriends over for dinner. It was so much fun to see them so grown up! We all enjoyed reminiscing about all the times Katie and I harassed them as little boys. Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pictures that night though.

Wednesday afternoon we drove to Denton to have lunch with my Aunt Marilyn in her home. She was at the farm with us for one night but I wanted to take Katie to see her house and new art studio she had built. James stayed with his Grandma so we just took the babies. It was a short visit because her home is not “kid proof” and full of very breakable one of a kind pieces of art from around the world.  Growing up my sister and I used to spend time with her in the summers and she always made it interesting. In fact, I give my Aunt credit for giving me some of my creativity. She taught us how to make soap, paint, can jelly, fix anything and drive her stick shift Peugeot on the farm. Yes even at 10 years old I was driving.

DSC_0023DSC_0027

Wednesday night was $1 admission with 3 can goods to the Texas State Fair. I timed this trip so perfectly, two fairs in two weeks….life can’t get any better. This fair is the “Biggest Fair in America” and is UNBELIEVABLY HUGE. Katie’s parents came with us and I told them I felt more comfortable having our parents with us because it was a little intimidating.

Every kid got an arm band with contact information

Every kid got an arm band with contact information if lost.

Notice the HUGE fairis wheel and all the games stretched for a 1/2 mile

Notice the 212 foot Ferris Wheel and all the games stretched for at least a 1/2 mile

Big Tex is a 52 ft. cowboy that talks. Mexico was playing Columbia at the Cotton Bowl that night (can see behind him)

Big Tex is a 52 ft. cowboy that talks. Mexico played Columbia in soccer at the Cotton Bowl that night.

Newest food addition...FRIED BUTTER. Everything is fried at the fair

Newest food addition...FRIED BUTTER. Everything is fried at the fair

Katie, her Dad & James getting ready for a parade

Katie, her Dad & James getting ready for a parade

Watching pig races. They raced to oreo cookies.

Watching pig races. They raced to oreo cookies.

Our last BIG thing was Canton Markets, “First Monday.” This is a flea market that takes place once a month on the weekend of the first Monday (Fri-Mon.). I actually planned my whole trip around this because I’ve heard about it since I’ve lived in Kansas. This was also HUGE and very fun. We started out in the outside “old/antique” area to get the best bargains. I had luck finding things for Oliver’s big boy room and baby J’s nursery. I wish I could have taken an areal picture of this place because it does go on for miles. In fact, it’s so big that they rent motorized scooters (like at the grocery store). We ate lunch in a food court but before we left I bought some delicious kettle corn!

Katie headed up a hill to some more shops

Katie headed up a hill to some more shops

Standing in line for candied pecans

Standing in line for candied pecans

Our trip ended with a very enjoyable breakfast on Saturday with no kids. Clay was very kind to keep all the kids for us. The Garden Cafe was only a few blocks away so we enjoyed a nice walk and delicious breakfast on a back patio overlooking their gardens. The place filled up soon after we arrived.

Clay took some pictures of us together before my Dad, Oliver and I got the car to travel 13 hours home. I’ll post those once I get them. Thank you ALL so much for making this an amazing trip. Gaspard’s, thank you for enduring our wild boy and being great hosts! Dad, you were brave to agree to drive us that far so thank you. Hopefully you’ve recovered by now.

Leave a Reply

